Chapter 1 Business Ethics- principles‚ values‚ and standards that guide behavior in the world of business Principles- specific pervasive boundaries for behavior that are universal and absolute (freedom‚ speech‚ equal rights) –the basis for rules Values- used to develop norms that are socially enforced (integrity‚ trust‚ accountability) Development of business ethics Before 1960’s: -Questioning capitalism -“living wage” income -New Deal-blaming business for economic woes -Individual
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Annet David Professor Koob Case 1-Massey Energy 1. What were the costs and benefits to stakeholders of the actions taken by Massey Energy and its managers? The stakeholders include everyone from Don Blankenship all the way down to the employees who were treated badly by Massey and their higher ups. Don Blankenship had a few more benefits than costs in regards to his company. He accrued $129 million over his 10 year stint as CEO of Massey Energy while also maintaining a power over others beneath
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The Manager and Management Accounting BUSI 0028 Sem 2‚ 2012/13 Dr. Olivia Leung © 2012 Pearson Education. All rights reserved. Accounting Discipline Overview Managerial accounting—measures‚ analyzes‚ and reports financial and nonfinancial information to help managers make decisions to fulfill organizational goals. Managerial accounting need not be GAAP compliant. Financial accounting—focus on reporting to external users including investors‚ creditors‚ and governmental
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AC4321 Management Accounting S04 Group4 Hui Yan Shan 53034152 Kwan Mei Yee 53023082 Siu lai Kwan 52692231 SU Chingting 52480431 ZENG Mengyun 52639616 Zhou Yunqi 52638828 1. CRC will improve its ability to plan its cash receipts. For the new membership and fee structure‚ it is more predictable in a sense that CRC get the prepaid membership fees at the beginning of the year. In addition‚ by using new membership and fee structure‚ cash receipts are also more certain. Since there are
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Accounting 202 Homework Chapter 1-Managerial Accounting ‚ the Business Organization‚ and Professional Ethics 1-40 Use of Accounting Information in Hospitals Most U.S. hospitals do not derive their revenue directly from patients. Instead‚ revenues come through third parties‚ such as insurance companies and government agencies. Until the 1980s‚ these payments generally reimbursed the hospital’s costs of serving patients. Such payments ‚ however ‚ are now generally flat fees for specified services
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------------------------------------------------- Subject: Managerial Accounting Case 1 Seligram In the Seligram case‚ the existing cost accounting system measured two components of cost: direct labor and burden. All burden cost‚ which is the overhead‚ was grouped into a single cost pool and was calculated only by using a burden rate per direct labor dollar. This may cause problems since direct labor and overhead are not consumed by the products in the same proportion. Simply using the same burden
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Chapter 1 Case 1-6 During the early 2000s‚ the roles of accounting and the auditing profession changed and several accounting scandals were uncovered. A. What conditions caused accounting and the auditing profession role to change during this time? In the mid 80s‚ the AICPA lift on the ban on advertising caused revenue generation to become more critical to partner’s compensation. The profit structure of CPA firms changed‚ and in 1999‚ revenues for management consulting accounted for more
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Katie Bowman Ethics Case 27th April 2010 (A.) A Person‚ group‚ or organization that has direct or indirect stake in an organization because it can affect or be affected by the organization’s actions‚ objectives‚ and policies are stakeholders. Significant stakeholders in a business organization include creditors‚ customers‚ directors‚ employees‚ owners (shareholders)‚ suppliers‚ and the community from which the business draws its resources. The stakeholders in this situation are Wayne Terrago
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1. Social responsibility is the obligation of an organization’s management towards the welfare and interests of the society in which it operates. Starbucks has been concerned with social responsibility in its overall corporate strategy basically since it was founded. Their strategy is largely due to Howard Shultz‚ one of Starbucks’ founder who has held job titles such as director of retail operations and marketing‚ chairman‚ and CEO. He once said‚ "We are not in the coffee business serving people
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David Shim Case Study #2 A) What is the break-even point in passengers and revenues per month? Unit CM = $160 – $70= $90 Unit of Sales = 3‚150‚000 / $90= 35‚000 passengers Unit of Sales = 35‚000 x $160= $5‚600‚000 revenue B) What is the break-even point in number of passenger train cars per month? Unit of Sales = 35‚000/63= 555.5= 556 passenger cars C) If Springfield Express raises its average passenger fare
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